Eighth Sakıp Sabancı International Research Awards

Published on 27.03.2014 11:55

2013 Sakıp Sabancı International Research Awards aim at a comparative approach to the transformation in Turkey.

After the introductory remarks of Sabancı University Board of Trustees Chair Güler Sabancı, Jury Panel Chair Professor Ayşe Kadıoğlu from the Sabancı University Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences explained the reasoning for the Special Jury Award, followed by Professor Fuat Keyman, Director of the Sabancı University Istanbul Policy Center, explaining the reasoning for the awards presented to young researchers.

The theme for this year’s awards was “Checks and Balances in Democracy: the Turkish Case from a Comparative Perspective.” The Special Jury Award was presented to Professor Ergun Özbudun of the Istanbul Şehir University Law School for his publications on prestigious international platforms and his comparative studies on the Turkish case.

Winners of the awards were Meral Uğur Çınar (The New School Department of Political Science and Sociology) and Kürşat Çınar (Ohio State University, Doctorate in Politics) with “Building Democracy to Last: The Turkish Experience in Comparative Perspective”; Ioannis N. Grigoriadis (Bilkent University Political Science and Public Administration Department) with “Democratic Transition and the Rising Tide of Majoritarianism: Comparing the Cases of Greece and Turkey” and Yunus Sözen (Özyeğin University International Relations Department) with “Paradoxes of Liberal Constitutional Democracy and Populist Challenge”.

For more information: